YouTube Shorts Monetization: How It Compares To TikTok

With YouTube Shorts monetization, how much money can creators make compared to the TikTok Creator Fund? Here are the differences.

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With the recent launch of YouTube Shorts monetization, creators want to know how much money they can make and how it compares to the TikTok Creator Fund.

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While CPM is commonly used to measure advertising revenue in long-form videos, it’s uncertain how it will translate to YouTube Shorts.

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In a recent interview with YouTube employees, a question was asked about Shorts’ revenue-sharing model and whether it’s better than what TikTok offers.

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Here’s a summary of their response, which breaks down the main differences between the monetization of YouTube Shorts vs. the TikTok Creator Fund.

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CPM stands for “cost per mille,” which means cost per thousand. Regarding content monetization, CPM measures the revenue earned for every 1,000 impressions.

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The Variability Of CPM

For example, if an advertiser pays $2 for every 1,000 impressions, and a content creator’s video receives 10,000 views with an ad, the content creator would earn $20 in revenue from that ad. The CPM for that ad would be $2.

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